What are the Whitneys?

The Whitneys are an awards program for novels written by LDS authors. Elder Orson F. Whitney, an early apostle in the LDS church, prophesied: "We will yet have Miltons and Shakespeares of our own."

It is our hope to be a part of that journey toward excellence by honoring LDS writers also working toward that goal.

The Whitney Awards honor novels in the following categories:

  • General Fiction
  • Romance
  • Historical Romance
  • Mystery/Suspense
  • Speculative Fiction
  • Speculative Youth Fiction
  • General Youth Fiction
  • Middle Grade
  • Historical
  • Best Novel in Youth Fiction
  • and Best Novel by a New Author

Novels can be nominated by any reader (via this form), and nominees are voted on by an academy of industry professionals, including authors, publishers, bookstore owners, distributors, critics, and others. The awards were founded in 2007 and operate as a semi-autonomous subsidiary of LDStorymakers.


2017 Whitney Awards