What are the Whitneys?

The Whitneys are an awards program for novels written by LDS authors. Elder Orson F. Whitney, an early apostle in the LDS church, prophesied: “We will yet have Miltons and Shakespeares of our own. Above all things, we must be original. Our mission is diverse from all others; our literature must also be.” It is our hope to be a part of that journey toward excellence by honoring LDS writers and showcasing, through their work, the standards that make us a unique people.

The Whitney Awards honor novels in the following categories: General Fiction, Romance, Historical Romance, Suspense/Mystery, Speculative Fiction, Young Adult General, Young Adult Speculative, Young Adult Fantasy, Middle Grade, Novel of the Year (Adult), Novel of the Year (Youth), and Best Novel by a Debut Author. Novels can be nominated by any reader (via this website or by mail), and nominees are voted on by an academy of industry professionals, including authors, publishers, bookstore owners, distributors, critics, and others.

The awards were founded in 2007 and operate as an semi-autonomous subsidiary of LDStorymakers.

What rubrics or content guidelines are followed in the determination of finalists and winners?

We do not give a rubric to our judges or to the Academy awards because this is a reader based award rather than a literary one. We choose judges who are sophisticated and critical readers and allow them to make their own judgements on writing quality and content. Doing otherwise (screening nominees based on content and writing quality) would be based on subjective reasoning, therefore we have only required that the author be a member of the LDS church. All other factors such as content, language, and craft, are to be judged by each individual person voting in the award process.

Who are we?

The 2018 Whitney Awards Committee is comprised of:

For more information about the roles and responsibilities of the committee, see the official rules.

The Whitney Awards are sponsored and endorsed by LDStorymakers, the authors guild for the LDS market.

The 2018 Whitney Awards will be presented:

May 11th, 2018, 7:30pm at the Whitney Award Gala, Provo Marriott Hotel, Provo, Utah.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.