What are the Whitney Awards?

The Whitney Awards is an awards program for novels written by authors who are members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Elder Orson F. Whitney, an early apostle in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, prophesied:

We will yet have Miltons and Shakespeares of our own. Above all things, we must be original. Our mission is diverse from all others; our literature must also be.
Orson F. Whitney

It is our hope to be a part of that journey toward excellence by honoring writers who are members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and showcasing, through their work, the standards that make us a unique people.


Accepted Categories

Adult Categories

  • General Fiction
  • Romance
  • Historical Romance
  • Mystery/Suspense
  • Speculative Fiction

Youth (YA) Categories

  • YA General
  • YA Fantasy
  • YA Speculative
  • Middle Grade

Overall Categories

  • Novel of the Year (Adult)
  • Novel of the Year (Youth)
  • Best Novel by a Debut Author
The 14th Annual Whitney Awards Committee

Kara Reynolds


Taffy Lovell

Author Contact

Elisa McLean

Judging Coordinator

Gina Denny

Author Contact

Jamie McHenry

Social Media Manager

Angie Taylor

Publisher Contact

Taryn Skipper

Website Manager

Emily Paxman

Publisher Contact